I want muscles like those women!

About 2 years ago I became a weights girl after being a cardio-wannabe-queen on and off for years.  This interesting turn of events came from me picking up an Oxygen instead of a Fitness or Shape magazine.  Now I never buy those because I love the bodies of the Oxygen girls.  The workouts are much better and you see results quicker.  Your body shape changes – something that doesn’t happen with cardio alone (you get smaller but still skinny-fat).  With weight you tone up and get more compact.  I still have to get more compact once my tweaked diet kicks in.  Oxygen also has instructions on how to use the machines, which was good because I was very intimidated when I went to the gym.  Anyways, the moral of the stories is don’t be afraid of weights!  Build the muscle to change your shape and aid in fat loss.

My bf pointed out (when I was on the scale) that even though the scale didn’t change too much that my body certainly did.  I was more toned and lifted and had little pipes and back muscles.  So keep that in mind too!

I do a 3 day split: arms shoulders one day, back/chest the next and legs/butt the other.  I do 30min of cardio before.  I do my ab work at home in the evenings.  I also took up snowboarding in the winter and mountain biking in the summer.  It’s amazing what one magazine purchase can do!

May 25, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , . Exercise.

2 Comments

  1. Ruthie replied:

    Sounds like you are doing great in the gym. The key to continue to see changes is continuing to change up your workout. After six to eight weeks your body gets used the exercises you are doing and quits changing, so just move the weights a little different, add new exercises and increase your weights.

    I added you to my Healthy blogroll.

    • iwantmysexyback replied:

      Thank you! I’m still figuring this blogging thing out. I love FitDay now too.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

