Question – Low Glycemic Index Diet?

From EverydayHealth.com:

Q: I am 45 years old and have always been a health-conscious person who exercised regularly. However, when I reached 40 I started gaining weight, no matter what I did. I have been trying to lose these last 15 pounds, but find it’s hopeless no matter what I try. I have been reading a lot about the glycemic index diet; however, a lot of the foods mentioned go against a low-carb, high-protein diet. It also says that foods like brown sugar and brown pasta are bad. Who do I listen to? What are some suggestions for someone my age?

A:  A low glycemic index diet just means that the foods you choose do not raise your blood sugar levels too high, too quickly. There are foods on this diet, including sugars, white breads, and pastas, that you should only eat in small quantities. This diet is very similar to a low-carb, high-protein diet except that a low glycemic diet is going to recommend more whole grains than a low-carb diet. If I had to pick, I would definitely choose…To see the rest of the answer click here!

August 6, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

