JT – More Proof For Push-Ups

DSCN2167

Hello Everyone,

My name is JT…I am the boyfriend of IWMSB.  I was asked to do a post for the blog…so I decided to write one about a wonderful exercise called “push-ups”.  IWMSB has written a couple of posts with some information regarding push-ups and I just wanted to reinforce the fact that push-ups can really be an effective part of any workout routine.  I have included them in my workouts for the past 5 years.

I needed an exercise routine that I could complete in 45min to an hour and be able to do it every second day.  I figured that my legs would benefit from the biking I do…so I focused my exercise days on my upper body…  I decided on three exercises…the push-up, the dip, the bicep curl and occasionally tri extensions.  I thought it would be interesting to challenge myself with the amount of time and number of “reps” during the routine…trying to reduce time while keeping “good form” during “reps” as well as the reduction of recovery time between sets. 

In the Beginning…

  • 2 sets x 35 standard push-ups
  • 2 sets x 10 dips (in between two chairs knees bent)
  • 2 sets x 35 standard push – ups
  • 2 sets x 7 bicep curls (hammer to palm up) (20 lbs)
  • 2 sets x 30 standard push-ups
  • 2 sets x 8 dips
  •  2 sets x 7 bicep curls (hammer to palm up) (20 lbs)

I would complete this exercise in that order in an hour

 Currently…

  • 7 sets x 50 standard push-ups
  • 4 sets x 12 dips (knees bent at 90 degrees)
  • 1 set x 50 push-ups (arms slightly extended forward)
  • 4 sets x 8 bicep curls (hammer to palm up) (50lbs)
  • 2 sets x 50 push-ups (feet raised on exercise ball)

I complete this in 40-45 min

August 10, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Diet, Exercise, Male Perspective, Weight Loss Tips.

One Comment

  1. Push Ups and PX90 « I Want My Sexy Back! replied:

    […] I started the PX9o today.  I did the chest and back routine.  It was good, got me sweating (or maybe that was the 30degree plus weather).  Lots of pushups, different variations, which was a nice change up.  Remember, you can look like this with pushups! […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

