Budget-Friendly Foods

piggy

I have some foods to add to the post I did called “Cheap Healthy Foods” that I found in an article on EverydayHealth.com titled “Top 10 Budget-Friendly Foods (Healthy Ones!)“.

The previous list contained:

  • Green beans (and they last longer than regular salad greens)
  • Potatos (just not as in french fries or calorie laden baked potatos with the fixings)
  • Eggs (I’m a big supporter!)
  • Spinach, or if that is too expensive, iceberg lettuce
  • Apples
  • Carrots (both apples and carrots last long in the fridge)
  • Canned tomatoes and other canned veggies (just rinsed to reduce sodium)
  • Frozen veggies
  • Lean hamburger, drain after browning
  • Canned tuna (my addition!)
  • Oatmeal (my addition)
  • Low fat skim milk (my addition)
  • Protein powder (buy in bulk, and on sale, cheap high quality protein)

The additions from EverydayHealth.com are:

  • Oats (ha!  I added that to the previous list)
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Fresh fruit (bananas, oranges)
  • Beans
  • Lentils
  • Peanut butter
  • Canned salmon (and tuna, I add)
  • Fat-free yogurt
August 20, 2009. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Diet, Fast Food, Interesting Articles, Weight Loss Tips.

One Comment

  1. Budget-Friendly Foods « I Want My Sexy Back! | protein-power-lifeplan | protein-power-lifeplan needs supplementing replied:

    […] Original post by iwantmysexyback […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

