Walking to Lose Weight?

From EverydayHealth.com:

Q: My doctor told me that I need to get more aerobic exercise, but I hate going to the gym! I do like to walk, but how fast and how long should I go to improve my cardiovascular health?

A:  I understand exactly what you mean about going to the gym; I’m not a big fan of it either. Personally, I prefer to exercise outdoors or at home. And like you, I really enjoy walking.Recently, I’ve begun recommending what’s known as interval walking to many of my patients. With interval walking, you alternate between short bursts of intensive effort and easier recovery periods, as opposed to walking at a steady, continuous, and potentially monotonous pace. In fact, studies show that you can get better results in 20 minutes of interval exercise than you would in an hour of steady-state exercise….Read the rest of the answer click here.

 

April 18, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. how much should i weigh replied:

    dang amazing stuff dude.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

